Skip to main content

Anthony Cerami Award in Translational Medicine


Molecular Medicine has established the Anthony Cerami Award in Translational Medicine to honor investigators who have created the fundamental discoveries and innovation necessary for critical advances in clinical practice.  The award recognizes leading edge discoveries that have led to seminal understanding and/or improvement of human health and have opened the door to new therapeutic advances.

Recipients are investigators who provided the crucial early insight and ideas that are the essence of discovery, creating new fields and research trajectories followed by the persistent clinical investigation that ultimately changes how disease is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The award celebrates and commemorates the unique attributes of insight, genius, and perseverance that are at the heart of the discovery process.

The recipient receives a $5,000 USD award and is invited to publish a monograph of their work that inspired or produced the discovery and/or clinical product(s). The monograph represents a unique opportunity to capture the inspirations, insights, surprises, and conceptual advances that are woven into the history of these discoveries, but if left untold, may be lost from the permanent record.

True innovators in medicine and health care are rare, and their stories even more precious.  The Anthony Cerami Award monographs will provide sources of inspiration and insight to subsequent generations, by providing the stories behind the pioneering advances.  The monographs will be written in the first person as an account of the personal experience behind the scientific research. As described in a narrative format, these articles will provide a window into the driving forces that were at work, the decision points, the scientific/political/social climate, and the key results that changed the future.

Monographs, in the voice of the discoverer, will permanently document their stories and inspire future innovators to advance medicine.

The Anthony Cerami Award in Translational Medicine - an Editorial by Kevin J Tracey, MD

Read more here.

Cerami Award Winner 2023

final_Cerami_Hotez 2023

The ninth Anthony Cerami Award in Translational Medicine was awarded to Peter Hotez, MD, PhD, distinguished immunologist, pediatrician, and global health advocate. The award is in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the field of molecular medicine and his dedication to addressing global health challenges.

Please read more about this announcement here. 

Past winners

Cerami Award 2019
Steven A. Rosenberg, MD, PhD: A Journey in Science: Immersion in the search for effective cancer immunotherapies

Cerami Award 2017
Paul Nurse, PhD: A Journey in Science: Cell-Cycle Control

Cerami Award 2016
Tak W Mak, PhD: A Journey in Science: Not Lost in Translation
Lawrence Steinman, MD: A Journey in Science: The Privilege of Exploring the Brain and the Immune System

Cerami Award 2015
Thomas E Starzl, MD, PhD: A Journey in Science: The Birth of Organ Transplantation with Particular Reference to Alloengraftment Mechanisms

Cerami Award 2014
David J Weatherall, MD, FRCP, FRS: A Journey in Science: Early Lessons from the Hemoglobin Field
Göran K Hansson, MD, PhD: A Journey in Science: Medical Scientist in Translation

Cerami Award 2013
Carl Nathan, MD: A Journey in Science: Promise, Purpose, Privilege

Annual Journal Metrics

  • Annual Journal Metrics

    2022 Citation Impact
    5.7 - 2-year Impact Factor
    6.3 - 5-year Impact Factor
    1.026 - SNIP (Source Normalized Impact per Paper)
    1.245 - SJR (SCImago Journal Rank)

    2023 Speed
    6 days submission to first editorial decision for all manuscripts (Median)
    132 days submission to accept (Median)

    2023 Usage
    1,878 Altmetric mentions