Skip to content


Ross Prize in Molecular Medicine


The annual Ross Prize in Molecular Medicine is established in conjunction with the Feinstein Institute for Medical Research and Molecular Medicine. The winner will be an active investigator having produced innovative, paradigm-shifting research that is worthy of significant and broad attention in the field of molecular medicine. We expect this individual will continue to garner recognition in future years, and that their current accomplishments reflect a rapidly rising career trajectory of discovery and invention. The winner will receive an honorarium of $50,000 USD, travel expenses to accept the award in New York, and will present the keynote lecture at the Award Ceremony and Mini-Symposium (traditionally held during the month of June).

For more information, please send an email to

Ross Prize winner 2018

Congratulations to Baylor College of Medicine’s Huda Zoghbi, MD, winner of the sixth annual Ross Prize in Molecular Medicine.

Please see the press release.

Past winners

Ross Prize 2017: Jeffrey V. Ravetch, MD, PhD
Ross Prize 2016: Charles N Serhan, PhD, DSc
Ross Prize 2015: Lewis C Cantley, MD
Ross Prize 2014: John J O'Shea, MD
Ross Prize 2013: Dan R Littman, MD, PhD


Qualified Nominators for The Ross Prize in Molecular Medicine
The right to submit nominations for the prize is enjoyed by contributing Editors, Corresponding authors of published articles and peer reviewers of Molecular Medicine. Members of National Academies, Medical School Deans and previous winners of the prize may also submit  nominations. Others may submit by invitation. To request an invitation, please email

Nomination Timeline for The Ross Prize in Molecular Medicine
Below is a brief description of the timeline for the prize.

  • June 11, 2018: Opening of 2019 Award Cycle
  • October 5, 2018: Deadline for Nominations
  • October - December 31, 2018: Application Review
  • January 2019: Prize Winner Notification
  • Spring 2019: Prize Winner Announcement
  • June 2019: Sixth Annual Ross Prize in Molecular Medicine Symposium

Nomination Materials for The Ross Prize in Molecular Medicine Application
Candidates* eligible for the prize are those nominated by a Qualified Nominator as listed above. An individual may not nominate himself or herself. Qualified Nominators are required to submit the following materials for the nomination application:

  • A 1- or 2-page cover letter describing the reasons for nomination (longer letters will be returned);
  • A 2-4 page biosketch of the nominee in the NIH format;
  • A full resume of the nominee; and 
  • Reprints (PDFs) of up to 10 publications.

* In the event that two or more people are co-nominated, the award will be shared equally among the winners.

The Ross Prize Advisory Committee

Betty Diamond, MDMolecular Medicine
Peter K Gregersen, MD, The Feinstein Institute for Medical Research
Lars Klareskog, MD, PhD, Karolinska Institutet
Klas Kärre, MD, PhD, Karolinska Institutet
Kevin J Tracey, MD, The Feinstein Institute for Medical Research

Annual Journal Metrics